THE WALLS

*THE WALLS*

It all started years back

I was *Afraid* of the *Walls*, 

Not the *Fictitious* wall

But its metaphor;

The *Walls* represents the *School*

One of the creatures in it 

Are *Beings*
Some are *Muslims* OR *Christians* by Religion

Some are *Activists* OR *Cultists* by Society

Some are *Lecturers* OR *Professors* by Profession

As I pass through these *Walls*

I realise that

If you find yourself in between these *Walls*

Consider yourself being in another *planet*.
Here I found myself

In the world of *Trials*

Even as I try hard to avoid these *Trials*

There are these *Faces*

*Noises*

*Sounds*

*Breezes*

*Winds*

*Footsteps*

*Shadows*

That wouldn’t let me

Bee Bee Bee

I heard in a land faraway

I thought it was an illusion

But I woke to reality

From my slumber 

A Reverend arrested at the ICU

I was told 

In no time 

I found my legs carrying me as fast as they could

He tried

I tried

She tried 

They tried

We all tried 

To bring him back 

But he wouldn’t come with us

He compressed without stopping;

She pushed *Ad.* without counting

I bagged without Asking

They all tried to

Bring him back

But he wouldn’t come with us……….

 The phelth was fading away

The values dropping 

The *Bp* stopped reading

The bag…………….

The bag kept expanding without reducing;

We all doubled up our game 

Still………..

He wouldn’t come with us

After so much plea……………

He’s gone……………

I muttered;

Time of death,

5:30am……….
   The bag froze in between my palm 

I stood 

Couldn’t move……

Couldn’t feel my legs that were 

Rooted to the floor,

He’s different 

I thought …………..

He is my first

This year……

Wanna stop writing 

But these *Faces*

Keep filling my pen 

With Ink………

Six days after that *Inherent*

I could be spotted among my colleague

Smiling so bright

I was called upon few minutes

To the *Time* I’ll be leaving these *Walls* 

In the middle of two men 

I ran along with them

Getting closer 

I slowed my pace 

From afar 

I sighted her 

Laying helplessly

She’s different………

Hands dropped by the *Side*

Face so *Pale*

Body so *Rigid*
 From the distance between us

I could tell she’s gone;

Looking around 

I saw these *Faces*

Those *Faces*

Same *Faces*

All looking sober

I and my team 

Tried bringing her back with us

But it was too late………
She didn’t wait for us 

She couldn’t, even if she wants to

She’s gone;

I gabbled,

Time of death

6:30am….

I babbled 

My second this year was all

 I twaddled.

I’ve tried to 

Dry up my ink that won’t stop filling

But I can’t 

I’ve only been allowed to pause

For a while…………………

    Adediran Emisal Zainab Adebunmi

   {Pearlmisal (Merald’s ink)}.

6 thoughts on “THE WALLS

Leave a comment